Thursday, February 02, 2006

Rep. John Boehner (R-Ohio) new Republican House Majority leader

Rep. John Boehner (R-Ohio) was elected as the new Republican House Majority Leader replacing the indicted Rep. Tom DeLay (R-Tx). Boehner won in an upset on the third second ballot, 122 - 109.

The second first ballot had Republican Whip Roy Blunt (R-Mo) 110, Boehner 79, Rep. John Shadegg (R-Az.) 40, and Rep. Jim Ryun (R-Ka) 2 votes.

House Republicans took a mulligan on the very first ballot as there were more votes cast then there were Republican voters.

Following his victory House Majority Leader Boehner was said to be seen handing out checks from voting machine lobbyists representing Diebold, ES&S, Sequoia, and Liberty on the House floor.

Rep. Roy Blunt will remain as next in command to Boehner as Majority Whip following the failure of Rep. John Sweeney (R-NY20)(R-Park City, Utah) and Rep. Dan Lungren (R-Ca) to force elections for all House leadership positions. That call went down Wednesday, 107-85.

No comments: